Good On You’s expert team of analysts coordinate with a wide range of experts, organisations, and activists across fashion to inform our classification of each country’s labour abuse risk. We focus on countries that play a major role in fashion production and some others where production is reasonably common. 

Good On Yous sources include Maplecroft, the Clean Clothes Campaign, and the Fair Wear Foundation. The work of these organisations includes independent reports on various countries to determine the level of risk, such as whether freedom of association is permitted in a country or whether the country has a statutory minimum wage that is enforced. We also have regard to the ITUC Global Risk Ranking.  

We acknowledge that risk can vary over time within particular sectors and within a country or a region, and factor such changes and other trends into our methodology updates. 


Countries by labour rights abuse risk category

Here’s a full list of countries organised based on their level of risk from higher to lower:

Higher risk:

Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Republic of the Congo, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Medium risk:

French Guiana, Macedonia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, United States of America, Uruguay

Lower risk:

Australia, Canada, European Union (excluding Romania and Slovenia), Iceland, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, United Kingdom